Anxious Much?

panic

So apparently I need to start reading the fine print when it comes to my pharmaceuticals.

You know how when you open up a brand new, freshly-bought magazine, all those annoying little cardboard squares start falling out of it?  And then you just scoop them up in a pile without reading anything and toss them straight in the garbage?  Well, that’s sort of what happens when I pick up a new medication from the pharmacy.  I’ll open the bag and all these random inserts start pouring out of it so I just freak out and throw them all away.  Smart, eh?  Especially since this is where key information like, “Don’t take this drug with grapefruit juice or your brain will explode” is written.

Anyhow, I had mentioned a few posts ago that I’d recently begun taking the Zoloft I was prescribed back in November.  Past experience has told me that whenever I quit opiates, the depression and anxiety that caused me to self-medicate in the first place will increase by a factor of a trillion.  It seemed a rather logical choice then, to counteract that with an antidepressant… common sense, really. Not as logical as taking the stuff when the doctor told me to, but nobody’s perfect, right?

Unfortunately, I am a jackass.  Considering that I’d treated the Zoloft package insert like something I’d found in a cracker jack box and ditched it ages ago, I had NO idea that the first dose was going to jolt my nervous system like a giant hit of crack (Edit –> I have never actually EXPERIENCED crack. I’m not THAT kind of addict… not that I’m judging if YOU are… Christ, shut up Liz..). We are talking fight-or-flight response from hell.

Turns out this is completely normal.  Yeah, apparently it’s SUPPOSED to feel like there’s a Metallica concert going on inside my chest.  Something about the anxiety getting worse before it gets better? And here’s the kicker: I may feel like this for WEEKS.  That’s what Google says, anyway, and he’s never led me astray before.

This all might have been manageable if it weren’t for the fact that I haven’t told my family, whom I currently live with until I find my own place, what I’m going through.  My stubborn plan was to just hunker down for hell and ride out the withdrawal on my own. But I’m literally on the brink of a nervous breakdown right now.  Eventually I’m going to snap and they’ll have to call the zoo to come shoot tranquilizer darts at me.

So I’ve decided that, although I can’t tell them about the withdrawal (trust me, that’s a whole ‘nother post) I AM going to come clean about the fact that my anxiety is sky-high.  I don’t know what I expect my sister to be able to do about it, but at least she’ll know why I’m shaking in my room like a Chihuahua.  It’s becoming pretty clear that this is not something I’m equipped to handle on my own.  Pride be damned.

I’m going to curl up with my Harry Potter blanket now, watch Frozen, and cry… like any reasonable 29-year old woman would do in this situation…

Night ‘folks.  Remember to read your magazine inserts.  And it doesn’t hurt to skim those pesky med info sheets either.

  • Liz –

About TheAccidentalAddict

I'm a 29-year old female with a good heart and a decent head on my shoulders. That is, when it's not telling me to swallow my weight in pain pills. I turn 30 in November and I'm determined to leave all addictions at the door. 2015 - The year I get my shit together. View all posts by TheAccidentalAddict

Leave a comment

The Everyday Addict

Hi! I’m Ashley and I am just your average everyday addict! Recovery is a new adventure that is hard, but it CAN also be fun and exciting! I created this blog to share my experience with addiction, my perspective as a youth in recovery, and the joys of my recovery. Clean & sober since 10/27/2008!

sarahsober

Figuring life out one day at a time

My journey, from wine lover to sober and happy...

There are thousands of people over at Soberistas.com supporting one another in achieving a happy and healthy alcohol-free life. You can find out more about joining our online community at soberistas.com

iwined

my journey with and without alcohol

feelingmywaybackintolife

living without alcohol, living again

Redneck Diva

i'm a bit of a diva with some redneck tendancies

unConfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

The Soberist Blog

a life in progress ... sans alcohol

Northern Sober

I have a great life, I just want it to be better.

the pickled pastor

a journey in recovery

HealthyJen

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

A Party Girl's Journey to Sobriety *edit* to Happiness

You can also find me on Instagram: @aebsworld or Twitter - @PrtyGrlGnSober

Soberman

"What makes Soberman a hero is not that he has power, but that he has the wisdom and the maturity to use the power wisely"

Sublime Curiosity

A zoo for thought experiments.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

A Dappled Path

Kicking the bottle

Sober Identity

#Life Coach #50+ Years #Striving #Thriving #Emerge: Growing From Addiction-Starter's Guide" #AfterRehabCoaching

(Is there) Life After Chardonnay

I quit drinking ... now what?

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

KLĒN + SŌBR

Shunning Stereotype + Shattering Stigma

Drunky Drunk Girl

A blog about getting sober

Mished-up

Mixed-up, Mashed-up, Mished-up.

The Sober Garden

Jettisoning the heavy stuff...

SOBRIETYLAND

Because nobody should have to do this alone.

DOPAMINE DIALOGUE

A Conversation About Addiction Recovery with the Goal of Eradicating the Stigma of Addiction ONE BLOG AT A TIME

The Adventures of a Sober Señorita

Follow me as I live la vida loca (but sober)

Carrie On Sober

A blog to help keep me on the right track...

UnPickled

How I Secretly Quit My Secret Habit of Secretly Drinking

The Six Year Hangover

A BLOG BY A GAY MAN GETTING SOBER IN NEW YORK CITY.

mentalrollercoaster

the musings and reflections of one person's mental amusement park

The Sober Journalist

A blog about quietly getting sober

Mrs D Is Going Without

Recovery.. On Purpose